DSA winners on stage

On Tuesday, August 29, the Wauwatosa School District recognized 25 staff members as recipients of the 2023 Distinguished Service Award during its annual Opening Day convocation. 

Each year families, colleagues and students are invited to nominate staff members for the Distinguished Service Award, which recognizes staff members that go above and beyond normal expectations and embody exemplary service and dedication in their work. To be nominated, individuals must have been employed by the Wauwatosa School District for at least three years and cannot be recognized more than once every three years. When making its decision, a committee of School Board members considers: 

  • Demonstrated services to the District which are distinguishable by excellence;

  • Quantity and quality of accomplishments listed in the nominating paragraph; and

  • Overall realization of this person’s going above and beyond normal expectations. 

Nominees were honored on stage at the annual Opening Day convocation and received a commemorative plaque. This year’s honorees include: 

Jessica Belich, Wauwatosa West; Wendy Kay Domena, Division of Academic Performance;  Craig Griffie, Wauwatosa East High School; Glen Harris, Longfellow Middle School; Tina Howard, Madison Elementary School; Carol Ingish, Lincoln Elementary School; Jill John, Madison Elementary School; Jennifer Kannass, Washington Elementary School; Deanna Knasinski, Whitman Middle School; Padi Kong, Wauwatosa West High School; Patrick Kygiel, Roosevelt Elementary School;  Jennifer Lato, Wauwatosa East High School; Jenny Leigh, McKinley Elementary School; Selena Marris, Wauwatosa West High School; Chad Mateske, Wauwatosa West High School; Kathleen Meinecke, Jefferson Elementary School; Amber Orlando, Vel R. Phillips School; Susan Osman, McKinley Elementary School; Timothy Patten, Division of Finance + Operations/Technology Services; Megan Petri, Wilson Elementary School; Angela Quinn, Lincoln Elementary School; Jeremy Roloff, McKinley Elementary School; Alicia Smith, Wauwatosa East High School; Alyssa Thomas, Wilson Elementary School; and Kari Wall, Roosevelt Elementary School. 

“Each year, our Distinguished Service Award recipients are selected for their reputation for bringing our mission, vision and core values to life every day - and this year is no exception,” stated Dr. Demond Means, Wauwatosa School District Superintendent. “It is an honor to recognize these outstanding staff members who have gone beyond their job duties to serve their students with the enthusiasm and commitment that we so highly value in Wauwatosa.”